This Mom’s Snow Day

It happened again.  I took a ton of pictures on Christmas and then… nothing!  Every year I’m overwhelmed by the holidays.  So afterwards, I focus on work and getting back to normal.   And I forget to take pictures.  :(

Luckily, today’s snow day (more on that to follow) inspired me to break out the camera again.  When downloading the photos, I realized I haven’t even done anything with the pictures I took on Christmas.  I so want to be on top of photos and even get the good ones printed, but it’s so time-consuming and hard to prioritize.  Ugh.

So for now, I’m just happy to have some 2013 pics only halfway into January.  We’ll see if I can keep it up and maybe have some good photos for the beginning of next year’s family calendar.  (I make a calendar on Shutterfly every year.  Love that site!)

Snow Day

Okay, that’s the bright side of the snow day.  The downside?  I’m swamped with work and today was supposed to be “catch-up day” so I can stay on track with my clients and marketing and everything else that goes into running a business.  Then came 6:20 A.M.  Ring ring.  I woke up, saw the snow, and thought: they’re calling a delay for school.  But part of me knew better.  You see, we live in a very conservative district where they err on the side of calling school off.  So I was not surprised when the recording announced that indeed, schools were closed for the day “due to inclement weather”.  We’re in New England, snow happens.  We got 2-3 inches of wet snow and then it stopped by mid-morning.  So although it took a long time for a plow to arrive on our street, it was not a big storm or a problem.  Oh well, it is what it is.

Some of you know I’m not a morning person, so you won’t be surprised by this.  After being woken up by the school snow day call, I was delirious enough to tell the kids “you can go back to sleep.”  Yeah, right!  I was definitely still dreaming.  One of them was actually thoughtful enough to close my door before bounding downstairs, presumably so I could rest.  Too bad I could hear them bickering through the door.Snowy Woods

So I’m making the best of the day – taking some much-needed rest time, enjoying extra time with the kids, and fitting in some work when possible.  And, of course, I took some pictures of the snow.

Any other parents home with the kids for this snow day too?  What are you doing with the day?

2 responses to “This Mom’s Snow Day

  1. Can’t believe that Franklin didn’t even delay and Bellingham cancelled outright! You guys are usually more hearty than we are here.

What do you think?

